Havamal

Though the traditional day to put up Pagan Blog Project posts is on Friday, I’m going to start making mine on Wednesday. There are two reasons behind this: One, is that Wednesday is Odin’s Day and I already make a post here every Wednesday as well. And since my Pagan Blog Project is dedicated entirely to Odin, what better day to put up the posts? Two, is because over on my writer site, I’m going to start doing what I’ve titled “Faerie Friday”. I love the Fae and as a small way to honor Them, I thought I’d talk about Them in a weekly blog post. Especially since they figure so much in the stories I’ve been working on–most notably mermaids.

So, if you follow this blog simply for the PBP, check in on Wednesdays. I’ll still advertise on the PBP site on Friday’s, but you’ll be able to read my posts a few days early. This will start next week.

That said, on with this week’s post!

~*~

This week I’m going to talk about the Havamal.

The Havamal is a text in the Poetic Edda that recounts Odin’s ordeal on Yggdrasil. It is also the words of Odin.

Odin has been in my life for years, but it was only late last year that I even heard of the Havamal, and only a month or so ago that I obtained a copy of it. So it is possible to follow Him and not have read it. (I still haven’t read it in it’s entirety–though I am working my way through it.) But it does help gain more understanding of Him and the things He values if you do read it.

Havamal talks about being wary in new places, how to treat strangers, and about giving people in your home good hospitality. It also talks about core values to live by–most (if not all) of which are things we as humans already consider “right behavior”.

It’s a great piece of poetry to meditate on though, and there are many pieces I could quote, but for now, I will just leave with this one.

The fool who fancies he is full of wisdom
While he sits by his hearth at home.
Quickly finds when questioned by others
That he knows nothing at all.

This entry was posted in Pagan Blog Project and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Havamal

  1. Wonderful site. Lots of useful information here. I’m sending it to several buddies ans also sharing in delicious. And of course, thank you on your effort!

  2. Hi, I do think this is a great site. I stumbledupon it 😉 I’m going to come back once again since i have book-marked it. Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be rich and continue to guide other people.

Leave a Reply

