Muginn and Huninn

Odin has two ravens, Huginn and Muninn–Thought and Memory (or Mind). I am not sure exactly how He acquired them, but they fly the world over everyday and report back to Him what they saw and heard at night. In fact, it was Odin Himself that gave the birds the ability to speak so they could tell Him their tales.

Huginn and Muninn are also Odin’s messengers. Not only do they tell Him things, but they deliver His messages as well. Sleipnir is actually the first sign from Odin that I recognized as a sign from Him, but whenever I look back, ravens fill my spiritual path. Though these days, it’s not Sleipnir (or horses in general) that I come across when Odin wants my attention. It’s ravens.

I was doing a little bit of research on Frigg earlier and came across something interesting. One website I was reading mentioned that -inn is a masculine definite article. Given that the ravens’ names both end with -inn, it’s plausible to assume they are male birds.

There is a stanza in the Grimnismal in which Odin (as Grimnir) is telling Agnarr about Odin’s companions. He talks about Odin’s wolves, and then goes on to tell about Huginn and Muninn.

O’er Mithgarth Hugin and Munin both
Each day set forth to fly;
For Hugin I fear lest he come not home,
But for Munin my care is more.

–translation by Henry Adams Bellows

I have to wonder why He thought Huginn may not come home, but I must admit I myself do quite love my Memory. 😛

This entry was posted in Pagan Blog Project and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Muginn and Huninn

  1. Pingback: Red, Blue, and Black: The Colors of Odin | Odin Devoted

Leave a Reply

