Prayer

Odin (and none of the Norse deities for that matter) is not a deity

that appreciates sniveling and groveling. He’ll assist you with things, but He’ll generally ask that you put in a decent amount of effort yourself. If you want an Emerald ring, for example, He won’t make it appear for free directly in front of you. He’s far more likely to point you to something that will allow you to earn the money to buy it.

This is a common thing I’ve noticed in Paganism. And, really, in life. You can’t say “I want x” and not put in the effort to get it. Jobs won’t knock at your door, you won’t suddenly stumble upon a free house, and the right person isn’t going to magically appear in front of you. You have to go out and put yourself in positions to get these things. IE you have to put in the effort. Odin will require this of you.

There’s been a bit of debate in Heathen culture about posture when you pray to the Heathen gods. Some people want to kneel, others want to sit half lotus. Personally, for me, I have found that Odin prefers it when I stand tall. Just because I myself am not a god doesn’t mean I need to act as if I have no power whatsoever. Kneeling feels too much like groveling, like begging, and that in turn implies a feeling of helplessness. Half lotus is better, but it’s still implying we’re “less than” the deities. That’s the thing: we’re not less than. We simply are human–not deities ourselves. Odin much prefers when I stand and meet Him eye to eye, spear at the ready, because He likes when I know my own worth. Standing, to Him, doesn’t say that I don’t respect Him. It simply says that I know my own strength and I’m ready to meet the challenges I need to face.

The following is a prayer I received a bit of inspiration for not ten minutes ago, as I was writing this post. Feel free to use it as you see fit. (If you repost it, please give credit and/or link back to this blog.)

Hail, Allfather!
I come to meet with You this day
High One, Father of Battle, Wise One
I ask for Your assistance and direction
In my endeavor
Please sharpen my spear
So that as I battle on towards my goal
I will gain Victory

–Raven Rose 8/7/13

This entry was posted in original work, Pagan Blog Project and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Prayer

  1. Tinnuwen says:

    very good points.
    I really, really dislike kneeling – apart from the fact that it gets painful pretty quickly :p to me it’s like falling on your knees in front of your Gods and I’ve always felt that they actually dislike that. That yes, they want you to stand in your own power, or look for your own power, and to not grovel, because you should know Them better than that.
    Sitting is fine for me, but what I find even better is standing – it seems as if I’m able to state much more clearly and firmly what I’m on about. So I use sitting when the my whole doings direct to a meditation and standing when it’s without a meditation.

    • Raven says:

      Yeah, if you’re doing a meditation, then sitting would be best. Also, I think sitting is okay as long as you are sitting tall–straight back, head held high, etc. Not this slouching stuff. 😛

      • Tinnuwen says:

        yep, this.
        you mean NOT sitting slouched on 5 pillows, mumbling whatever it is you wanted to pray / ask for / thank for / etc.? heeheeh. I always imagine that I’d get a good head bump à la Gibbs (NCIS) from the Gods if I did something this inappropriate. :)))

  2. Alverdine says:

    “Just because I myself am not a god doesn’t mean I need to act as if I have no power whatsoever” – love this sentiment. I’ve got the impression the Ladies I work with don’t appreciate grovelling, either.

  3. Pingback: “Odindevoted” – ännu en hednisk personlig blogg på WordPress… | Hedniska Tankar

Leave a Reply

