Let’s Talk About Loki

So, I’ve read in several places that some Heathens/Asatruar/Norse

Pagans won’t/don’t acknowledge Loki. I’ve even heard that some refuse to speak His name. I’m curious as to why this is? In the lore, Odin Himself says (at one point) that He won’t drink unless Loki is offered a drink as well. Loki also plays a pretty hefty role in the lore. Even if He is the one to bring about Ragnarock, that doesn’t–to me–automatically make Him a bad guy.

The “but He’s part Jotun” doesn’t sit well with me either, as the Gods don’t acknowledge Him as “enemy” until Baldur dies. And at that point, He’s still not punished for being Jotun, but because He’s managed to upset everyone else (several times at that point).

So I’m genuinely, honestly curious as to why some Heathens/Asatruar/Norse Pagans don’t honor/acknowledge Loki?

This entry was posted in Asatru/Heathenism and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Let’s Talk About Loki

  1. Wytchfawn says:

    I am not Norse Pagan, but know enough that Ragnarok is not really true… right? I mean, wasn’t all that stuff written down by Christian monks anyway? So it must be read with a grain of salt. But, I digress… Loki is one Be-ing I have bumped into in the astral before and whilst He is a bit ‘shady’, He is wise if one understands His language. 😉

    • Raven says:

      All mythology has been influenced by Christians at one point or another. That said, Norse mythology (and, again, all mythologies) are full of symbolism. One could argue that, since the Norse deities were for awhile pushed to the background and largely forgotten about, that a Ragnarock has already happened. Because that’s what Ragnarock is–the death of the Gods.

      But onto Loki. Yeah, if you “speak His language” then He’s wise and not so shady as well. A lot of people just see Him as a trickster and so that’s the side of Him they see–they don’t see the other sides. Which, to me, is a shame because there’s far more to Loki than playing tricks.

  2. tinnuwen says:

    I’d be curious to know, too 🙂

  3. Talia Ravensinger says:

    Because they are wary of the chaos He can bring?

    Not that I am. I say bring it on Lo….uh wait. That doesn`t work out too well for me. Because He loves a dare. 😛

  4. Bodi Mayo says:

    The main reason is that a figure such as Loki was never meant to be worshipped. He is a part of the Lore, in my opinion, as a plot device and as a cautionary tale. The secondary, and equally important reason, is that holding up such a figure as a being worthy of worship is ridiculous on the face of it, and a clear sign of our times. Only now, with the amount of soul sickness running rampant among thr descendants of Europe, would such a figure be held up for praise.

    I personally believe that if you call yourself Asatru or Heathen, that you stand for societal law, the natural order, and the promotion and preservation of the folk. Loki worship accomplishes none of these things.

    • Raven says:

      Hmm I see your point with your last paragraph, but I am confused then as to why Odin would count Him as brother and say the things He has about Him if Loki were not supposed to be honored.

Leave a Reply

