Odin as Santa?

This is one part of many–you can see them all here, and I recommend viewing the whole thing.

A friend sent me a link to this, and I was wondering what my readers thought of it? I admit I’ve noticed similarities, but it does seem like a bit of a jump from Odin and The Wild Hunt to Jolly Fat Man that leaves presents under a tree. What do you guys think? Do you have any theories one way or another?

This entry was posted in Asatru/Heathenism and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Odin as Santa?

  1. Amanda says:

    This was actually the subject of my most recent blog post.

    In my experience, yes Odin is Santa. This is the way Odin first appeared to me when I was a child, I just didn’t know it yet. And it wasn’t until last Yule that I fully accepted that Santa was Odin the whole time.

    Now, it could be that “Santa” is a mask that Odin sometimes uses, and Santa isn’t always Odin to all children, if that makes any sense. I’ve seen other things insisting that Santa is really Thor, and that may be true for some people. Maybe Thor also dresses up as Santa sometimes. Maybe other gods from other pantheons also use the Santa mask sometimes too.

    I think it’s similar to how some gods turned into saints. I think that was a way for some gods to keep in touch with their people after Christianization. One of my friends is a devotee of Brigid who has visited Kildare where Catholic nuns now keep her sacred flame. I live in South Texas, where the Virgin of Guadalupe is a big deal, and she has all the hallmarks of a local goddess who is now trying to pass herself off as a saint to keep being worshipped.

    Seems pretty clever if you ask me.

Leave a Reply

