In The Works: NaNoWriMo Projects

Happy Odin’s Day!

It is officially the first Odin’s Day of NaNoWriMo month (November). When I went into this month, I had an anthology of Pagan stories planned as my project. But when the time came start working on it–even though I had a bit of an outline written–I found myself unable to work on it. All the ideas I had seemed unappealing, and it just felt like the wrong time all the way around to begin work on it. So, I decided that I’d set it aside. I thought I’d try to start over and complete last year’s NaNoWriMo project, but even though I felt very inspired to work on that, it didn’t feel like the right time there either. So, I set that aside, too.

NaNoWriMo has always been important to me. I’ve done it for several years now (6-7!). No publishable piece comes out of it, mind you. Everything I do in this month needs a ton of work in the end. But if there’s one thing I’ve found to be incredibly true in the life of a writer is that you can edit a bad page, but you can’t edit a blank page. So having something to work with is better than no words at all. I typically use this month to get the very basic rough draft down and then through the next few months go about editing things. Still, I needed a project.

In reading lately I’ve been in a very nonfiction mood. I’ve also been in a nonfiction mood when it came to writing. I’ve been penning several essays lately and only making notes on fiction stories that I want to, in the future, write. When I realized what kind of thing I wanted to write, my mind immediately went back to the Devotional I had for Odin planned several years ago.

For one reason or another I didn’t actually end up writing it. I think it was because I made a major move and life change, and so any major writing projects had to get put aside. And it wasn’t until now that I felt I had the time to write it, or that the time was right. But now, I do.

And that has become my official NaNoWriMo project. I’ve made up an outline and made notes on things I want to include. I don’t have a lot down yet, because I’m researching a few things as I go. Do I plan to get the entire rough draft done in November? Probably not. I’m a dog walker and pet sitter by day, and with (American) Thanksgiving at the end of this month, I foresee myself being quite busy then. But I’m going to get as much done as I can. Perhaps I’ll share excerpts as I go along.

If you’d like to follow me on the NaNoWriMo site, you can do so here~!

This entry was posted in Devotional and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

