Collectively Devoted

Awhile back I discovered an Etsy shop that I adore. It’s run by a woman who is a wife of Odin’s,  and I’ve collected several of her beautiful pieces over the past year. Most of them were present on my make-shift altar to Odin this morning.

Photo by Raven

Photo by Raven

I think the first of these things that I purchased was the string of prayer beads with the

Photo by Raven

Photo by Raven

wolf charm on it. For awhile I didn’t dare leave my house without this set. I wanted to get used to the feel of them and their energy. I wanted them on me at all times while I came up with the perfect prayers to use. I no longer do that (carry them everywhere)–they now reside on my Odin shrine in day to day life, but I take them down every Wednesday or whenever I feel I need to connect with Odin. The beads are smooth against my skin, and a welcome feeling of familiarity at this point.

The small tealight was a free sample Beth had sent me with another order I had placed, though I can’t recall with which one. It’s a Lavender scented one and isn’t particularly meant to be associated with Odin, but my own personal UPG says that He appreciates Lavender and so I’ve had it on His altar for quite some time. I had been waiting for a special occasion to use it, but today just felt like the right day. There isn’t much special about today other than it’s the first day I’ve done a true, full blown ritual to Odin in a long time. It’s really the first full blown ritual period I’ve done in awhile. (More on that in a bit.)

Photo by Raven

Photo by Raven

My two latest acquisitions are the incense and the Raven bracelet.

Photo by Raven

Photo by Raven

I got the Raven bracelet a few months ago now and it is hands down my favorite piece of jewelry. I wear it every day and it has so much meaning to me it’s kind of nuts. There’s the obvious connection to Odin because of Hugin and Munin, but the meaning for me goes a little deeper than that. Raven (the bird) has been in my life for years–I could argue longer than Odin, but I suspect Raven was trying to alert me to His presence. The word “raven” has been part of my spiritual name ever since I started using a spiritual name. I associate the Raven with writing, probably largely in part due to Edgar Allen Poe’s poem.

The incense, which is simply titled “Odin” has the perfect scent to it. It provides the perfect atmosphere for an Odin centered ritual, and has the smell I would expect Odin to have if He took corporeal form. It was my latest thing that was acquired and today was the first day I got to use it in a ritual for Odin. I love it.

I mention all of these not only to promote a great artist and etsy shop, but also because they have benefited my practice and helped me to rekindle it. After moving here, to New Jersey, a few years ago my practice grew very lax as I was thrown into a hectic, very fast paced life and suddenly had more to worry about and juggle than I ever had before. I didn’t really want my practice to slow, but I had to find new and interesting ways to incorporate it into my life, and I’ve slowly been doing that. It’s not nearly back to where it was before moving, but it’s gaining ground and picking back up.

This entry was posted in Devotional and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Collectively Devoted

  1. Beth says:

    Reblogged this on Wytch of the North and commented:
    A lovely review of a few of my products from a fellow Odin devotee! I love getting this kind of feedback from customers, and getting to see photos of the things I make being used on actual shrines. Thank you so much for sharing this!

Leave a Reply

