Isa: Ice Of Strength

I haven’t drawn Isa for a long time. It’s one of those Runes that pop up in many others (Wunjo, Thurisaz, even Berkana), and I see it that way, but I rarely draw this one as my daily Rune. In fact I’m not even sure when the last time I drew it was. It’s been that long.

Isa is a Rune that I’m not wholly familiar with because of the rarity in which it shows up in my readings. But I find it’s message you be a very empowering one.

When I think of Isa I think of Ice. The calm, cool, unmovable ice of a glacier. Glaciers do, of course, move. But they don’t let anything get in their way–they hold their ground. That’s the type of unmovable I’m talking about. The kind that doesn’t give. When something tries to push against you and make you break, you don’t let it. You keep going no matter what and push through. You know your boundaries and don’t let anyone or anything get beyond them. In this regard Isa is a bit of a shield, standing tall and strong in front of you. It counsels to maintain your ground, don’t give in or give up. Keep going.

The other thing about Isa is it can give you a stark reality check. Not only can the single bar act as a shield, but also as a wall. A sort of message to stop for just a moment and take stock of everything. See where you are at. Give some thought to what you are planning to do before you actually do them. And if you come to conclusion that you are in a harmful or unhealthy place, Isa will counsel you to remove yourself from that situation.

Those may seem like two contradicting messages, but in reality they aren’t. Forethought should be given to anything you do (even when you’re doing a spontaneous act), and knowing what you truly want and what you need to do will help you push forward and accomplish those goals.

This entry was posted in Runes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Isa: Ice Of Strength

  1. Reblogged this on journeyintoinsanity and commented:
    I like this interpretation. I don’t draw Isa very often at all. And honestly, my impression of it wasn’t too positive. But now, if it comes up, I have another way to look at it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

