The Meaning Behind Thursday?

Most Pagans I know of accept that Thursday = Thor’s Day. And why not, most of the other days have Norse deity associations in their names (Tuesday = Tyr’s Day; Wednesday = Odin’s Day; Friday = Frigga/Freyja’s Day), so why wouldn’t Thursday follow suit? Aside from an apostrophe, Thursday is just one letter different than being Thor’s Day which lends itself even more to the idea of it being His day.

BUT, I’ve been reading A Practical Heathen’s Guide to Asatru (when I’m not reading Fire Jewel) and Patricia Lafayllve mentioned something that got my brain turning. She brought up the “destructive fire and ice giants, or thursar (singular thurs)”. Thurs. As in, Thursday? Instead of being named for Thor, could Thursday have possibly gotten it’s name from those same fire and ice giants?

If it did, I’d be a little surprised. What with the other days of the week having been named for deities and not beings that are against those deities (or for astrological bodies like the Sun and Moon). It’s a thing I’d be interested in finding out, though.

I, obviously, have not done further research into this. I just came across this in my reading and it struck a thought that I felt like sharing. If any of you reading this do know the answer to my quandary, I’d most happily hear it!

Artist unknown

Artist unknown

This entry was posted in Family and Friends and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Meaning Behind Thursday?

  1. Jeff Lilly says:

    Interesting! But the fact that in other Germanic languages, Thursday is quite clearly related to Thor (e.g. German ‘Donnerstag’, Thunder-Day) makes it pretty clear that Thor’s the intended honoree.

    It might be possible, though, that Thor’s name is related to the *thursar*. I have no idea if that’s the case. 🙂

    • Raven says:

      The commenter below you gave a Swedish language connection that basically says “no, this IS about Thor”…which I’m very glad about.

  2. Mu says:

    In Swedish Thursday is Torsdag, and Thor is Tor.

Leave a Reply

