What Am I Working On?

I wanted to make a follow up post to yesterday’s Writer Wednesday announcement that just kind of talked a bit about what I’m currently working on and what I have on my slate for upcoming projects. On my old website I had a “Currently Creating” page, but do not plan to continue that tradition here. I find that I rarely remembered to update that page, and since I primarily write short stories (or jump from project to project as inspiration calls me) I change too frequently and would be updating that page once a week or more. Doing that isn’t in keeping with the “condense everything” theme.

However, it’s been quite awhile since I talked about any project whatsoever, and figured it was time for an update. I’m only going to mention the things that I plan to release at some point in the next year (by September 2016). I have many more ideas and projects at various states of completion, but these are what I plan to put out in the world sometime in the next 365 days.

~Selkie Story. This is a novella that is based on the selkie myth. This is mostly done. I’ve been working on it off and on for about four years now, and at one point last year even planned to release it. But as the release date approached I knew that it wasn’t the right time. The story wasn’t what I wanted it to be, I wasn’t happy with the title, and I just couldn’t create a cover that I was happy with. Nothing was working, and I can’t put out anything that I’m not 100% proud of. So, I delayed the release of it. However, I think the time may be right now, and so I’ve slated this as my first possible release. I’m not going to announce a date yet, as I don’t want to put a definite until I have everything finalized.

~To Every Season. An anthology of short stories based on the Wheel of the Year. In it you follow Arabella and Sadie (a lesbian couple) through their journey as they get engaged and plan their wedding, all while rescuing a unicorn and saving a local park and fall even deeper in love with one another. I started this project this past February, but I’ve written various stories with Arabella and Sadie in them. They are some of my favorite characters to write, and some of the ones that have been with me the longest. ❤

~Frigga Anthology. I came up with this concept two-ish years ago when I first heard that Frigga has twelve handmaidens. There isn’t a whole lot of information out there about Them, and I wanted to change that. Frigga is the Queen of the Gods and wife of Odin. So, I wanted to use fiction as a way to put more about Her handmaidens out there. No official release date on this yet, especially as I still have a lot more research to do before I feel confident and comfortable writing about the handmaidens. I did manage to find a book about them, but if you have any resources that would explain more about them, please share a link in the comments!

~Norse Deity Anthology. Very similar to the Frigga anthology, though instead of focusing on only one deity this will contain one short story for each of the deities. I had considered dividing the stories into two different volumes–one for the Vanir and one for the Aesir–but no decision has been made on that quite yet. Most likely what will happen is that it’s one complete volume just divided into two different sections. In my time line of releases, I had planned to put this one out after the Frigga anthology, but when I stop and think about it it’s more likely for this one to be released first. We’ll see what time brings. Selkie Story and To Every Season get priority right now.

~Odin Devotional. Been talking about doing this for years (since before this site was created. In fact, Odin Devoted was created partly to house some of the research I was doing for the devotional!), but haven’t yet. This will contain some fiction, but will be primarily nonfiction as it will contain rituals and personal essays as well as poems for Him. All of the other books I’ve mentioned in this post I have tentative personal deadlines and release dates for, but this one I haven’t assigned any deadline for. Not yet.

That’s what’s on my writing agenda for the next year or so, and what you can look out for from me in the near future. I also have a few other pieces out for publication in magazines and what not, and will announce those as they become available.

This entry was posted in Telling My Stories and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

