An Important Message 

The other day my partner and I were discussing Odin. Or rather we were discussing Loki and how He’s been coming up in different ways in our lives, and tangentially got to talking about Odin. I have a million thoughts on Loki, but I’ll share those another time. The things we were discussing about Odin are what I want to touch on now. 

Small warning: political talk. I think this will be the first time I’ve talked about politics here as I usually try to just keep that to Facebook and Twitter. But this needs discussing. 

My partner told me is one of his issues with Odin is the way His image has been adopted by Men’s Rights Activists (MRA’s). First, let’s acknowledge that isn’t an issue with ODIN Himself. Or it shouldn’t be. He didn’t ride over from Asgard and afix His image to those flags. The MRA’s took His image and put it there. So it should be an issue with them, not Him. However, it’s because this group uses His image that we come to the point of this post. 

I DO NOT SUPPORT MRA’s. 

My partner’s claim was that by giving anything to Odin in directly gave energy to MRA’s. Simply because they use His image. Now, I’m not Odin’s keeper (I highly doubt such a thing actually exists as I can’t see Odin allowing such a thing), so I don’t know what all He does or doesn’t do. I would LIKE to believe He doesn’t support these people, though I admit you really can’t find a more hypermasculine god (except maybe Thor), or culture. But given that Odin has dressed up as a woman, and has respected a woman enough to learn from Her makes me believe He’s not misogynistic. Or at the very least would not support such people. 

I wanted to address this issue as I know there are a lot of people in the Heathen community that ARE MRA’s and don’t support women’s rights. I know there are several white supremacists in our community. I know there are people who say that if you aren’t of Norwegian (or other Nordic) descent that you can’t worship the Nordic deities. 

I AM NOT ONE OF THESE PEOPLE. 

I 100% believe Black Lives Matter, women are equal to men (and should be treated as such), transwomen are women and transmen are men, anyone can worship any god that calls to them, and no one is better than anyone else. 

Rest assured this blog and all my other social media sites are Safe Spaces. I don’t care what flavor of whatever you are. You’re awesome and you have every right to be who you are. 

This ends the political talk, and I now return you to your regularly scheduled posts about Runes, awesome pics, and Odin lore. 

This entry was posted in Telling My Stories and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

